Succession Group was named Company of the Year in the annual Dealmakers Awards, hosted by Insider Media.

Corporate Finance professionals from across the south west were invited to nominate those businesses that are outstanding in managing mergers and acquisitions, and an independent judging panel voted Succession Group as the outright award winner.  The accolades we received from bankers, solicitors and accountants were summed up by awards host, Alun Cochrane who said:

“In terms of pure numbers, Succession Group is perhaps the most acquisitive business in the region today. It buys up financial advisory firms and folds them into its clever business that creates further value and drives growth. It is headquartered in Plymouth but is making its presence felt all over the UK”.

Group Corporate Director, Paul Morrish, accepted the award for Succession Group.

Paul said:  “This award recognises our unique and privileged position in the financial services industry as a back to front consolidator.  Working so closely with member firms throughout their transition phase creates a bond of trust, transparency and shared value generation with both parties coming to the table ready to agree terms that optimise the value of the selling business without compromising the value of the acquiring business – both at the point of acquisition, and beyond”.

Paul Millar’s firm Verus Wealth was acquired by Succession Group in 2015.  He said:  “This award recognises the professionalism and expertise within Succession Group’s acquisition team. From finance to legal to HR, this specialist team literally work round the clock to meet the unique needs of business owners, while protecting shareholder value”.

Dhan Sharma, founder of Succession Group’s most recent acquisition, Maze Wealth, said:  “It’s a fantastic achievement.  Succession should be really proud.  As one of the newest shareholders in Succession Group, I  could not be more pleased to be involved in the future development of the business.”

Succession Group was crowned Company of the Year from a shortlist of seven.  The flagship event rewards professionals “at the very top of their game” who are pivotal to driving deals and creating capital.